Texture, texture, texture

The last week or two have been funny ones, not a lot of creating or production but there again what I have done has been new designs for me, Firstly a hat in a different shape also using a merino base with a Galway mix for the outer layer and the brim. The Galway likes to felt in a different way to the merino so took some working, I have learnt in the past that less soap, copious amount of water and lots of rolling are required. It keeps its shape beautifully but I’m not overly happy with this, there are one or two areas that are just not sitting right, yet others that I love so this is still a work in progress. My other creation has been a Nuno Scarf and again different to my usual style including lots of material texture. Finally last Tuesday I spent a lovely day with Karen, who is a great Artist and Needle felter, her needled pictures are super, but she wanted to learn to wet felt as well and she created a fabulous abstract. Pictures of this to follow, in the meantime here’s the Nuno.2014-07-14 19.05.44
On a footnote, this Friday and Saturday the Craft group are in the Carlow Shopping Centre so if any of you are around Carlow, please call in and say hello. I’ll have some lovely handspun Jacob with me as well as Leicester and Galway with a small amount of Merino.

About Anita Marnell Fibre Art

I love the feel of fleece, silks and natural fibres which I transform into felt wearables and decorative art.
This entry was posted in Carlow, Felt, Felted hats, Handspun Yarn, Needle Felt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

